The trucking industry requires many permits and licenses. If you’re opening a trucking company, you already know that if you cross state lines in vehicles over 10,000 pounds, you will have to get a USDOT number. However, as you get clients and plan routes, you will find the truck permits you need to operate your business.
Some loads are considered oversized and require you to get a special permit to operate them. Some states require a permit if you drive a large truck on their highways. It’s helpful to know what kind of permits you will need and how much they will cost.
What is The Heaviest Load Without A Permit?
Every state in the U.S. has a slightly different standard for oversized. However, the federal government has its own standards for these trucks:
- A length of over 75 feet from front to back.
- A width of over 8 feet and 6 inches.
- A height of over 13 feet and 6 inches from the ground to the top.
- A Weight of 80,000 pounds or over, including the truck, trailer, and cargo.
Each state sets its own rates for oversized permits. In addition to a permit, some states will require an oversized truck to have an escort. In some cases, roads may need to close down. The permits are reasonably priced from around $15.00 to $70.00.
However, escorts can be very expensive. Insurance is also expensive. You’re certain to need safety equipment such as flags and signs.
This can make taking wide shipments across the country quite challenging. You will want to have a qualified route planner help you find a route that allows for the widest loads and has the least expensive permits.
The state of New Mexico requires that all trucks weighing over 26,000 pounds get a permit. Permitted trucks will have to pay a quarterly tax based on the truck’s weight and the distance they traveled. A New Mexico Permit is $55 for the first permit and $10 for every other permit.
You Will Need More Than Just IFTA Registration in Oregon
Every trucking company in the United States participates in the International Fuel Trade Agreement. Truckers used to have to obtain a permit and pay fuel taxes to each state. This was very time-consuming.
The IFTA established central offices in each state. Trucking companies file their fuel taxes quarterly with that one office, and the office distributes those taxes.
Oregon has its own standards. Even If you’re a member of the IFTA, you must still obtain a separate permit in Oregon. You will have to pay taxes to the state every month. Unless you deliver something to Portland, it’s best to avoid driving through the state.
The Bluegrass State requires vehicles over 59,999 pounds to get a permit. You will have to pay a certain amount for every mile you travel through the state. Although it fluctuates, it’s around $0.0285 for every mile. You can also get a temporary permit that cost $40 and is good for 10 days.
New York Highway Use Tax Sticker
You don’t have to drive a heavy truck at all to need a permit in New York. If your vehicle is over 18,000 pounds loaded or 8000 pounds unloaded, you must obtain a sticker from the state. The tax rate depends on the number of miles and the exact weight of your truck. The sticker itself is only $1.50 a vehicle.
If you don’t get all of your permits, you may be fined by the state or the FMCSA. A compliance company can make sure you have all the right permits all of the time. If you have all your permits in place and follow regulations, your company will operate smoothly and thrive.
- How Your Business Can Start Being Sustainable
- The Ultimate Guide To Vehicle And Fleet Telematics
- What Commercial Auto Insurance Typically Covers?
Author: Klinta Kalnina